View Mobile Site
Cabrillo Music Festival Orchestra

Cabrillo Festival Orchestra

Winner of the League of American Orchestra and ASCAP’s 2008-2009 John S. Edwards Award for Strongest Commitment to New American Music, and winner of their Award for Adventurous Programming of Contemporary Music for 31 consecutive years (1982-2012).   

Cabrillo has emerged as the western states’ leading orchestra devoted to modern symphonic repertory in the twenty-first century. The Festival’s core performance group is an ensemble of sixty-eight professional musicians who join Maestra Alsop each year in award-winning programming of contemporary music. These musicians come to Santa Cruz from all over the world, often foregoing more lucrative engagements in order to volunteer their professional services in favor of the stimulation and challenge of the Cabrillo programs. Each is a new music advocate in their own right. For 50 years, they have earned Cabrillo an uncompromised and prestigious reputation as America’s preeminent contemporary music festival. We invite you to join us in thanking each member of the orchestra for their generosity and dedication, and for the greatness of their spirit.


Below is a listing of all tenured/provisional Orchestra players.
For the 2013 roster, including extra and substitute players, click here.


Violin I

Justin Bruns, Concertmaster, Atlanta GA
Yvonne Lam, Assistant Concertmaster, Chicago IL
Rebecca Jackson, Santa Cruz CA
Robyn Julyan, Denver CO
Rita Lee, San Francisco CA
Matthew Means, Hays KS
Sarah Shellman, Tampa FL
Carol Swift-Matton, Albuquerque NM
Benjamin Tomkins, Denver CO

Violin II

Matt Albert, Principal, Dallas TX
Anne Chandra, Assistant Principal, Sarasota FL
Susan French, Long Island City NY
Andrew McCann, Chicago IL
Elena Sopoci, Santa Fe NM
Rob Simonds, Indianapolis IN
Charmian Stewart, San Anselmo CA


Leslie Van Becker, Principal, Grand Rapids MI
Eleanor Angel, Mountain View CA
Chad Kaltinger, Capitola CA
Mary Jane Miller, Grand Rapids MI
Jessica Oudin, Atlanta GA


Lee Duckles, Principal, Vancouver BC, Canada
Kathleen Balfe, Granada, Spain
Dorien de León, Portland OR
Jennifer Humphreys, Atlanta GA
Virginia Kron, Ojai CA
Brad Ritchie, Atlanta GA


Thomas Derthick, Principal, Sacramento CA
Thomas Harte, Los Angeles CA
Todd Lockwood, Jacksonville FL
Terry Pruitt, Albuquerque NM



Tim Munro, Principal, Chicago IL
Kristen Halay, Eugene OR
Betsy Hudson Traba, Sarasota FL


Karen Wagner, Principal, Portland OR
Paula Engerer, Phoenix AZ
Alexander Miller, Grand Rapids MI


Bharat Chandra, Principal, Sarasota FL
Michael Maccaferri, Chicago IL
John R. Schertle, Hong Kong


Evan Kuhlmann, Principal, Portland OR
Adam Trussell, Portland OR
Steve Vacchi, Eugene OR



Kristin Jurkscheit, Principal, Baltimore MD
Gavin Reed, Assistant Principal, Houston TX
Fritz Foss, Denver CO
Nicky Roosevelt, Berkeley CA
Thomas Hundemer, Shreveport LA


Craig Morris, Principal, Coral Gables FL
Andrew Gignac, San Antonio TX
Lauren Eberhart, San Antonio TX
Micah Wilkinson, Portland OR


Ava Ordman, Principal, Lansing MI
Dan Mattson, Grand Rapids MI
Robert K. Ward, Grand Rapids MI


Forrest Byram, Principal, San Francisco CA



Steve Hearn, Principal, Lakewood CO


Galen Lemmon, Principal, San Jose CA
Jim Kassis, Oakland CA
Rieko Koyama, Takarazuka, Japan
Ward Spangler, Oakland CA


Nuiko Wadden, Principal, Brooklyn NY


Emily Wong, Principal, Yorktown Heights NY

Associate Conductor
Karin Hendrickson, New Wilmington PA

Orchestra Manager
Erik Finley, Atlanta GA

Ella M. Fredrickson, St. Petersburg FL